The League of Women Voters of Alaska (LWVAK) is a

501(c)(3) nonprofit, tax-exempt organization.


January brings the beginning of a new year and the kickoff for the League of Women Voters’ annual fundraising drive. We are grateful to our members and others who support the mission of our organization to encourage the active participation of citizens in government and to increase understanding of major public policy issues.


In 2022 our voter education activities were in high gear. Other important state League actions and accomplishments:


• Adopted Mail Chimp as a means to reach all state members directly

• Prepared to launch a legislation tracking newsletter to replace Capitol Currents

• Opened our monthly board meetings via Zoom to all Alaska League members

• Collaborated with Maine LWV on their Digital Democracy project and organizational idea exchanges

• Reached out to rural voters with pre-elections ads in the Arctic Sounder, Bethel Delta Discovery, and Bristol Bay Times

• Continued to publish THE VOTER, our periodic newsletter

• Reinvigorated as our web page for voter information and a general election candidate guide

• Offered Ranked Choice Voting information through and a series of workshops both live and via Zoom.

• Produced a Constitutional Convention ballot measure forum via Zoom in collaboration with LWV of Tanana Valley

• Worked with ACLU Alaska, Arctic Village, and the Native American Rights Fund to press for a pre-election “cure” process for mail-in and absentee ballots, as is possible in almost half of the states, instead of our current post-election ballot rejections when inadvertent but correctable errors are made on the ballot envelope.


With all these initiatives, the board has determined that it is imperative to upgrade and modernize our website in collaboration with each of the local chapters. Therefore, this year our request is for donations of any amount to continue our regular activities but especially to support the design, transition to, and support of a new, improved website.


You can donate using a check or PayPal. Instructions are right below.


Donate with a Check

Image by Mohamad Hassen from Pixabay

If you would prefer to write a check, please print the form just below, fill it out, enclose the form with your check and send them to:



PO Box 101345

Anchorage AK  99510-1345

2023 LWVAK Check Donation Form
Please download and print this form. After completing it, please enclose it with your check and send both to the LWV of Alaska. THANK YOU!!
230122 Check Donation Form.pdf
Adobe Acrobat document [104.5 KB]

Donate using PayPal

If you would prefer to use PayPal, please use the Donate button below. PayPal will ask you to select either the Website Upgrade or the General Fund (General Fund is the first choice, click the drop down button for the Website fund).  Note: I understand by making this donation to the Website Update should funds raised exceed the amount required, any excess will be applied to the LWVAK General Fund. 


If you have a PayPal account, PayPal will ask you to sign in and use that.  If you don't have a PayPal account, PayPal will ask if you want to create one.  You do not have to create a PayPal account to donate.  Just uncheck the option.  


You can also use your credit card to charge. You will enter it on the PayPal screen.


If you have a PayPal account, your address information will be sent to the LWV-Alaska so we can send you tax related information at the end of the year.  Your donation is tax-deductible.  


If you don't have a PayPal account, the screen will ask you to enter your address so we can send you tax related information at the end of the year.  Your donation is tax-deductible.



State Board Members

Alex Koplin, President

(Central Kenai Peninsula) 2024

Marianne Mills, Vice-President

(Juneau) 2024

Sandy Garity, Secretary

(Central Kenai Peninsula) 2024

Shirley Pittz, Treasurer
(Anchorage) 2025
Sue Sherif, Past-President
(Tanana Valley) 2024


Judy Andree

(Juneau) 2024

Gayle Garrigues

(Tanana Valley) 2025

Shari George

(Tanana Valley) 2024

Gail Knobf

(Central Kenai Peninsula) 2025

Therese Lewandowski

(Central Kenai Peninsula) 2024

Pat Redmond

(Anchorage) 2024

Local League Presidents

Shirley Pittz

LWV of Anchorage 2024

Cathleen Rolph
Central Kenai Peninsula League of Women Voters 2024

Janna Miller & Sue Sherif
LWV of Tanana Valley 2023

Sarah Moore

LWV of Juneau 2024

Register to Vote

If you are a U.S. citizen and you are at least 18 years old, you can vote. In most states, before you can vote you need to register. Registration must be completed 30 days before Election Day.


Click to Register


Register to Vote now! Make sure you fill out the form completely; then print, sign, and mail it to the address given.

Below are the Facebook pages for Alaska.

Print | Sitemap
© Tanana Valley League of Women Voters - 2004-2019