State of Alaska Government & Community Information

Alaska State Legislature

LWV Alaska Judicial Appointment and Retention Study


At its 2015 Annual Meeting, the League of Women Voters of Alaska approved a study of Alaska's Judicial Appointment and Retention System. The study committee completed its activities in the fall of 2015 and presented to the Board its findings along with a series of consensus questions (see "Consensus Questions..."). Local Leagues held consensus meetings in December of 2015. A final Position Statement on Judicial Appointment and Retention was adopted in January 2016.


This website includes links to research materials gathered by the study committee for use by Local Leagues in their respective consensus meetings.

State of Alaska

State of Alaska Division of Elections


Need to register to vote? Enter a change of address? Find a polling place or election dates? This is the place.

Statewide Library Electronic Doorway

  National Government & Community Information

Federal Judiciary Center

League of Women Voters National Website

Library of Congress

Project Vote Smart

Thomas Legislative Information Online

United States House of Representatives

United States Senate

Fairbanks Government & Community Information

Fairbanks North Star Borough (FNSB) School District

University of Alaska Fairbanks

State Board Members

Alex Koplin, Co-President &

(Central Kenai Peninsula) 2023

Sue Sherif, Co-President
(Tanana Valley) 2023

Marianne Mills, Vice-President
(Juneau) 2023

Sandy Garity, Secretary
(Central Kenai Peninsula) 2024

Shirley Pittz, Treasurer
(Anchorage) 2023
Judy Andree, Past-President
(Juneau) 2023


Carol Dickason

(Anchorage) 2023

Gayle Garrigues

(Tanana Valley) 2023

Shari George

(Tanana Valley) 2024

Therese Lewandowski

(Central Kenai Peninsula) 2024

Pat Redmond

(Anchorage) 2023

Cathleen Rolph

(Central Kenai Peninsula) 2023

Local League Presidents

Shirley Pittz

LWV of Anchorage 2023

Gail Knobf & Cathleen Rolph
Central Kenai Peninsula League of Women Voters 2023

Janna Miller & Sue Sherif
LWV of Tanana Valley 2023

Kirsa Hughes-Skandjis

LWV of Juneau 2023

Register to Vote

If you are a U.S. citizen and you are at least 18 years old, you can vote. In most states, before you can vote you need to register. Registration must be completed 30 days before Election Day.


Click to Register


Register to Vote now! Make sure you fill out the form completely; then print, sign, and mail it to the address given.

Below are the Facebook pages for Alaska.

Print | Sitemap
© Tanana Valley League of Women Voters - 2004-2019